New York law requires motorists involved in accidents to stop, render aid, and exchange information. Unfortunately, not all New York drivers take their responsibilities seriously. Some leave the scene out of panic, or because they want to avoid the police, or because they don’t have insurance or a license, or simply because they don’t want to take responsibility for what’s happened.
At David Resnick & Associates, P.C., we understand the overwhelming circumstances associated with being involved in a hit-and-run accident. Our NYC car accident lawyer can provide the information you need to understand your unique situation and help you prepare for what’s ahead.
What Is a Hit-and-Run Accident?
A motor vehicle accident where one driver flees the scene is often called a hit-and-run accident. New York law requires all motorists involved in crashes to stop and check for injuries and property damage. The law also states that drivers must exchange contact and insurance information and notify law enforcement in cases where there are injuries or when property damage appears to exceed $1,500. Leaving the scene of a collision without taking these steps amounts to a hit-and-run violation.
Penalties for Fleeing the Scene of an Accident
Leaving the scene of an accident isn’t just an unfortunate moral choice. It is a criminal offense. Leaving the scene of an accident can result in serious penalties depending on the circumstances of the crash, including:
- Fines up to $250
- Up to 15 days in jail
Leaving the scene of an accident when injuries or death are involved can yield more severe penalties in the form of thousands of dollars in fines and prison time. Drivers convicted of hit-and-run can also face surcharges between $88 to $93 and three points on their driver’s license. They may also face other potential consequences, such as increased insurance premiums.
What to Do After a Collision
What can you do to protect yourself following a New York car accident? Consider taking these steps to protect yourself and strengthen your case:
- Stop at the scene and do not attempt to chase the hit-and-run driver.
- Contact the authorities and provide any identifying details about the hit-and-run driver and their vehicle – vehicle color, type of car, license plate number (even partial), the direction they were headed, and a description of the driver, for example.
- Seek medical attention immediately.
- Take photos and videos at the scene.
- Ask for the contact information of any witnesses at the scene.
- Contact our NYC car accident attorney for help.
Filing an Accident Report
In New York, motorists must file an accident report after a crash. Accident reports are required when a person is injured or killed in a collision or property damage is more than $1,000. You must file an accident report within 10 days of the crash. Failing to file a report can trigger the New York Department of Motor Vehicles to suspend your driver’s license until the agency receives your report.
You can find copies of the accident report form online. Fill out the form and submit it to the New York DMV.
Talk to an Experienced NYC Hit-and-Run Attorney
A hit-and-run accident can leave you struggling physically, emotionally, and financially. However, even if the other driver is never found, you might still have options for securing the compensation you need. Get the legal help and support you deserve from the experienced NYC hit-and-run lawyer at David Resnick & Associates, P.C.
Founder David Resnick built this firm by offering proven legal knowledge, outstanding communication, and personalized representation to clients. Let our legal team help you pursue the justice and compensation you deserve.
Contact our office today to get your free legal consultation.